So Long Men’s Soccer

I was doing some chatting about colleges/universities cutting men’s soccer. I realized there wasn’t a one-stop-shop with a database that compiled all of them. So, I decided to try and do that. It’ll be a running database as I’ll have to research when/where programs were dropped.

Will be arranged by last season played.

68 total programs cuts — 1 merger (multiple schools, kept MSOC), 5 cut all athletics, 7 programs reinstated, and 19 schools closed.


Institution Affiliation State Year Notes
National American University NAIA South Dakota TBD cut all athletics
Youngstown State University DI Ohio TBD
Ohio University DI Ohio TBD
Grace University NCCAA Nebraska 2018 school closed
Wentworth Military Academy NJCAA Missouri 2017 school closed
Saint Joseph’s College DII Indiana 2017 school closed
SUNY – Buffalo DI New York 2017
San Jacinto College NJCAA Texas 2017
University of North Carolina at Pembroke DII North Carolina 2017
Roxbury Community College NJCAA Massachusetts 2017
Wheelock College DIII Massachusetts 2017 merger – with Boston University
Brigham Young University – Hawaii DII Hawaii 2016 cut all athletics
Ashford University NAIA Iowa 2015 cut all athletics
Darton State College NJCAA Georgia 2015 school closed
Dowling College DII New York 2015 school closed
St. Catharine College NAIA Kentucky 2015 school closed
Trinity Lutheran College NAIA Washington 2015 school closed
Northland International University NCCAA Wisconsin 2015 school closed
Owens Community College NJCAA Ohio 2015
AIB College of Business NAIA Iowa 2014 cut all athletics
University of Texas – Brownsville NAIA Texas 2014 merger – now UTRGV
Clearwater Christian College NCCAA Florida 2014 school closed
University of Wisconsin – Oshkosh DIII Wisconsin 2014
Ashland University DII Ohio 2013 reinstated 2016
Virginia Intermont College NAIA Virginia 2013 school closed
Mid-Continent University NAIA Kentucky 2013 school closed
Louisiana State University Shreveport NAIA Louisiana 2012 reinstated 2017
Mount St. Mary’s University DI Maryland 2012 reinstated 2018
Mountain State University NAIA West Virginia 2012 school closed
University of Richmond DI Virginia 2012
Towson University DI Maryland 2012
Kishwaukee College NJCAA Illnois 2012
University of Sioux Falls DII South Dakota 2012
Tennessee Temple University USCAA Tennessee 2011 school closed
Alabama A&M University DI Alabama 2011
Lambuth University NAIA Tennessee 2010 school closed
Delta College NJCAA Michigan 2010
Dana College NAIA Nebraska 2009 school closed
University of Maine DI Maine 2009
College of Santa Fe NAIA New Mexico 2008 cut all athletics
Kutztown University DII Pennsylvania 2008
Western Kentucky University DI Kentucky 2007
Nebraska Christian College NCCAA Nebraska 2006 reinstated 2017
Huron University NAIA South Dakota 2005 school closed
East Carolina University DI North Carolina 2005
Vanderbilt University DI Tennessee 2005
Life University NAIA Georgia 2002 reinstated 2016
Charleston Southern University DI South Carolina 2002
Fresno State University DI California 2002
Texas Christian University DI Texas 2002
The Citadel DI South Carolina 2002
Haskell Indiana Nations University NAIA Kansas 2002
University of South Alabama DI Alabama 1998
University of Miami – Ohio DI Ohio 1998
Eastern Michigan University DI Michigan 1998
Westmar University NAIA Iowa 1997 school closed
University of Texas – Pan American DI Texas 1997
University of Maryland – Eastern Shore DI Maryland 1996
University of Arkansas – Little Rock DI Arkansas 1995
Illinois State University DI Illinois 1994
Central Michigan University DI Michigan 1994
University of North Texas DI Texas 1993
St. Mary of the Plains NAIA Kansas 1991 school closed
Tarkio College NAIA Missouri 1991 school closed
Houston Baptist University DI Texas 1990 reinstated 2006
Purdue University DI Indiana 1985
Evangel University NAIA Missouri 1974 reinstated 2015
University of Wyoming DI Wyoming 1971