Where Higher Education Fails

Well, it has been a difficult time determining on what my next post was going to be about. I have a project for one of my final Master’s courses that set up this thought process. I am supposed to develop a curriculum for a course, seminar, workshop, etc. for something that I may be interested in or even do one of these days. I am very interested in “alumni support” for educational institutions, which led me to thinking of how I believe I can include it in a 3-day seminar.

Then I started thinking how I could make the seminar even more relevant to college students. I have yet to hear from anyone who had any sort of “financial planning,” “personal finance,” or something similar on how one can manage finances and burdens of life after college.

This led me to probably trying to develop a 3-day seminar (or something similar) for personal finance. I think it is SO important for students to be educated on “life” not just the books. I do not necessarily think it is mandatory for a college or university to provide this to students, but do think if an institution started a “personal finance” course, that many students would be inclined to take it. It shows that an institution does care about the student post-college.

As of right now, a typical student receives no knowledge of how he/she can remain a supporting alumnus once he/she has graduated. I would venture to say that most institutions only require the graduating student to fill out a crappy bubble “assessment” of his/her college experience. How grand right? Thanks for caring so much about me once I spent $$$$ and 4+ years of my life caring about you as an institution.

By offering a course on personal finance, a graduating senior (or it can be offered to any freshman, sophomore, or junior also) can be better prepared when encountering mortgage payments, insurance payments, rental agreements, cell phone payments, moving costs, student loan payments, graduate school, tithing/donating, and any other variety of expenses one may encounter. A student usually does not deal with their own expenses during their college life, so many times the student gets everything thrown on them once they graduate. This would help prepare them to know what to expect and prepare for once they graduate.

Within the course, it can also be asked of the student to give a detailed evaluation of their experiences of the institution. They can be asked what they liked most of the school, what they liked least of the school, and what they would do if they were a generous donor to the institution. This would allow a student to have a loud voice in where and what the institution needs to do. The institution can also establish a good alumni base through the course. A student can learn how they stay involved (if they want to) even after they no longer attend the institution.

I believe a personal finance course could help the nation get back on its feet. There are so many people who are not prepared to enter the “real world” that struggle to handle all the different financial responsibilities. A personal finance course would also be very helpful for those in secondary education since there are many people who do not enter college. Responsibility. It’s important. Especially in these tough economic times, being financially responsible in every aspect can only help you.

4 comments

  1. Pingback: My Rebuttal to “UnCollege” « ponchat

  2. Pingback: Keep On Keepin’ On « ponchat

  3. Pingback: College « ponchat

  4. Pingback: Should Higher Education Evolve? | ponchat

Leave a Reply

